View cart “"When You Needed Me” – (CD)” has been added to your cart.

"Blinded By the Night" – (CD)


“Blinded By the Night” (CD)

SKU: CBABBN2014CD Categories: , Tags: , , , ,


“Blinded By the Night”- (CD)

“Blinded By The Night” was recorded Live at the Cutting Room in New York City, on August 28, 2013 and was not only released as a CD but also as a much sought after Double LP…”

“Blinded By The Night” starts the ball rolling with “Testimony” a Robbie James Robertson song, which was one of the songs on his self titled Solo Debut release in 1987. U2 and Peter Gabriel contributed to that album with Bono on Vocals for “Testimony”. “Testimony” was also featured on their previous release, “When You Needed Me”, for which like on this album, they also did an absolutely marvelous job. “Testimony” was a great opener for “Blinded By The Night” …”

“Blinded By The Night” also contained three other great covers, two penned by David Bennett Cohen, Track 2 “Funky Peaches” and Track 9 “City Boy Blues”, and Track 4 “God Bless The Child” which was a Billie Holiday/Arthur Herzog Jr., collaboration. David Bennett Cohen is perhaps best known for the fact that he was the original Keyboardist for Country Joe and the Fish, a late 60’s psychedelic rock and blues band, which actually performed at Woodstock, although Cohen was no longer a member at that time. “Funky Peaches” is actually one of my favorite songs performed by the The City Boy Allstars, and as the name suggest, it is indeed a number with a nice Funky feel to it. “Funky Peaches”, which is also an instrumental really featured the musicianship of the band beautifully, especially the Horn section which consisted of Tony Kadleck & Lew Soloff on Trumpets and “Blue Lou” Marini, Andy Snitzer & Tom “Bones” Malone on Saxophones. Other really nice work, which was often in the form of some nice featured solo’s were Mike Merola (Guitar), Al MacDowell (Bass), Rob Clores (Keys), Nick Saya (Drums), and Daniel Sadownick (Percussion).

In addition to the musicians on “Blinded By The Night”, the other big highlight on this release was of course the stellar Vocalists, which included, Angel Rissoff, Bil Kurz, and Horace Scott II. In addition to the unbelievably good Vocals, a few of them, namely Angel Rissoff and Horace Scott II, also got in on writing or co-writing a few of the tunes.

For the closer on “Blinded By The Night” they chose one of my favorites, “City Boy Blues”. A great tune which had the whole band just a hoppin’ with some nice solo Guitar work thrown in via Mike Merola for good measure. “City Boy Blues” was a really great tune to end a really great live album.

– excerpt by John Vermilyea (Blues Underground Network)

Track Listings:

  1. Testimony (Robbie Jaime Robertson)
  2. Funky Peaches  (David Bennett Cohen)
  3. Where Have You Been?  (Angel Rissoff / Richard Borken)
  4. God Bless The Child  (Billie Holiday / Arthur Herzog Jr.)
  5. Strung Out  (Frankie Paris / Harry Holt)
  6. The Vow  (Horace Scott / Bennett Paster)
  7. More Where That Came From (Angel Rissoff)
  8. When You Needed Me  (Horace Scott/ Connie Alexander / Antonio Jacobs)
  9. City Boy Blues (David Bennett Cohen)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “"Blinded By the Night" – (CD)”